Leinster Leader Senior League Final 2011

Written by pmcd. Posted in Reports 2011 Category

Leinster Leader Senior League Final 2011

Published on August 26, 2011 with


MOOREFIELD          1-10

SARSFIELDS             0-09
A repeat of the 2010 county final between two teams who have had very successful league campaigns, Moorefield
have won every game this year and Sarsfields were out to stop their 100%
record. The first half was a very tough and tight game with nothing between the
teams at half time. Moorefield opened the scoring within the first minute with
an excellent point from full forward Jason Philips after Moorefield won
possession from the throw in. Sarsfields replied instantly with a good point
from Declan McKenna and took the lead in the fifth minute when Patrick
O’Sullivan fisted the ball over the bar. John Geraghty hit a super point from
midfield in the seventh minute to put Sarsfields two points clear. Moorefield
took the lead in the 12th minute when Jason Philips beat Sarsfields
goal keeper for a superb goal after excellent football from David Whyte, Aaron
Mullins and Philie Wolfe. Sarsfields levelled the game once again with a point
from Conor Tiernan but Moorefield were back in the lead two minutes later when
David Whyte hit an excellent 50yard free. Alan Smith levelled the game when he
converted a free to leave a half time score of 1-02 to 0-05.
Padraig O’Flynn put Moorefield back in the lead in the first minute when he made a great run from
the half back line to knock over the point. Midfielder Caoimhne McDonnell
levelled the game a minute later with a good point but Moorefield were back in
the lead once again when Ronan Sweeney pointed from a free in the fourth
minute. Moorefield never looked back after this score and outplayed Sarsfields
in the second half dominating the game for the next twenty minutes. Padraig
O’Flynn kicked his second point from play after Liam Callaghan won possession
in the full back line and sent in a great ball to Philie Wolfe who set up
O’Flynn for the point. Ronan Sweeney hit two excellent points from play and he
also set up Jason Philips for his second point from play in the 18th
minute. Man of the match Ronan Sweeney pointed from a free in the 18th
minute to put them into a 6th point lead. Sarsfields refused to give
up and kicked three good points from play coming from Declan McKenna and
Padraig Brennan (2) to reduce the deficit to a goal but David Whyte kicked
Moorefield’s last point of the game when he expertly kicked a 50 yard free to
secure Moorefield’s unbeaten record and retain the Leader Cup.