Senior Reserve A Championship Winners 2011

Written by Kelly. Posted in Senior B Team

Published on August 08, 2011 with


Moorefield 1-12 Leixlip 1-6

Congratulations to all involved!



Winless for six months, Moores win by six points


By: TCM Editorial


THEY went six months without winning a game but Moorefield made up for those losses to claim a six point victory over Leixlip in the Senior Football Championship Reserve A final in Clane on Saturday evening.

Although trailing at half-time, a dazzling second half performance from the likes of Frank Hannify and Gareth Duffy secured the win for Mick O’Shea’s men.

Leixlip got off to a flyer, with the influential Fergal Killeen bombing through the defence to pick up a pass from Matt Lynch. With a clear route cut to goal, Stephen Doyle felt it necessary to body check the half back in order to give away the free, which was easily converted by Neil Jordan. When Bernard Behan replied almost immediately, it would prove to be the full forwards last act of the game, an injury forcing Duffy on to replace him.

Jordan was quite obviously the talisman in the Leixlip offence, with the majority of possession beginning or ending with the half forward. The opening 20 minutes of the tie consisted of both sides converting frees, Shane Horgan and Frank Hanaphy matching Jordan in set piece ability. The Moores eventually took the lead for the first time on 23 minutes, when Paul Martin was called in to action to tip Horgan’s shot inches over the bar.

At this stage, both sides were employing a two man full forward line, with both number 15s in Declan Malone and Ross Glavin cramming the middle of the park. An entertaining first period edged towards an end with neither side dominating, although two late scores from Jordan gave Leixlip the slight upper hand heading in to the break with a one point lead. He summed up his exceptional performance with a dazzling run through the defence, with Warren Keely desperately trying to keep up with him although his efforts would be in vain as Jordan slotted home the shot to call a halt on the first half.

This break was crucial, as to who would return with a spring in their step and the courage to go after the victory with any conviction. One point in 10 second half minutes left many wondering if either side wanted to win, although Gareth Duffy was involved in a goal mouth incident which could have ploughed his Moorefield side in front.

Leaping with Leixlip goalkeeper Martin, the influential sub got a palm to the ball but unluckily flicked the ball towards the crossbar. Seconds later and Duffy stamped his name on the game with a score from the top drawer, showing well to claim the ball with his back to goal before pivoting on the spot, taking aim and unleashing a left footed effort nestled over the bar.

The turning point in this tie came with little over 15 minutes remaining, when Daragh Dunne’s shot was deflected, dropping inches under the busy Leixlip crossbar. Martin could only slap the ball in front of him, before Daryl Edmonds poached as any corner forward should to scramble the ball to the back of the net for Moorefield.

Dunne then inspired to stretch Moorefield’s lead to six, a determined left footed effort from 35 metres screaming through the air. At this point, Leixlip were offering little in attack, struggling to gain possession in the middle. Eddie Heavey all but wrapped up proceedings with a sweetly struck effort, taking the ball from Dessie Rogan who cleaned one or two Leixlip players out of his way to claim the ball.

A late goal from Matt Lynch was nothing other than a consolation for Leixlip, as they surrendered to a Moorefield side who took their time to kick in to fifth gear. Once they did they were unstoppable. Niall White stood a proud man as he collected the trophy, hailing the selectors as well as his colleagues for ‘sticking with it’ and claiming a memorable Championship win in Conneff Park.

MOOREFIELD: Conor Galvin; Stephen Doyle, Pauric Byrne, Niall White; Dean Brogan, Damian Mulally .-., Warren Keely; Darragh Dunne .-., Shane Canavan; Frank Hannify .-.fs, Eddie Heavey .-., Shane Horgan .-. (.f); Gary Lowe, Bernard Behan .-., Ross Glavin. Subs: Gareth Duffy .-. for Behan, .; Eamon Callaghan for Keely, ..; Daryl Edmonds .-. for Lowe, ..; Dessie Rogan for Canavan, ..; Glen Collins for Heavey, …

LEIXLIP: Paul Martin; Eoin Doyle, Dara Doherty, Stephen Kilcullen; Barry Egan, Fergal Killeen, Eanna McHugh; John Hoare, Kevin McNamee; Neil Jordan .-. (.fs), Matt Lynch .-., Eamon O’Muiri; Neil Mullarky, Brian Sheridan, Declan Malone. Subs: Colum Grier for Kilcullen, ..; Eoin Harrington for Hoare, ..; Evan Gill for Sheridan, …

REF: Paddy Moore (Clane)



Reserve A Championship

Round 1 Moorefield 1-14 -v- Clane 1-13

Tuesday 9th August in Caragh



Round 2 Moorefield 1-12 -v- Confey 0-06

Monday 15th August in Clane


Quarter Final

Monday 29th August 2011 @6.45pm

At Naas                        Morefield v Celbridge              Alan Lagrue

At Kilcullen                  Naas v St Laurences                 Mick Spencer

At Rathcoffey             Maynooth v Sarsfields             Tom O’Rourke



Wednesday 7th September

Moorefield vs. Maynooth

In Naas at 7pm


Reserve A Championship Rd 1

Naas             1 – 10         Athy          1 –  10

Celbridge       2 – 17         Carbury      1 – 12

Round Towers 1 -6           Leixlip        0 – 6

Moorefield            1 – 14        Clane      1 – 13

Larries 3 – 11      Sarsfields    2 – 9

Rd 2

Moorefield             1 – 12          Confey        0 – 6

Celbridge               0 – 15         Athy           0 – 7

Sarsfields              3 – 5            Clane         1 – 5

Round Towers        3 – 6            Maynooth   0 – 9

Leixlip                   1 – 11           Naas         1 – 9

St Laurences          1 – 10         Carbury       0 – 11