Leinster Leader Senior League, Round 6

Written by pmcd. Posted in Reports 2011 Category

Leinster Leader Senior League, Round 6

Published on May 29, 2011 with

21st May 2011



MOOREFIELD          1-13

NAAS                         0-08

This game was played in terrible weather conditions but the Moore’s still came out of it with a comfortable win. Moorefield dominated the first half of the game scoring 1-07 while Naas only scored a single point. Half back James Lonergan opened the scoring in the 2nd minute when he got forward from the half back, Jason Philips kicked an excellent point in the 4th minute and Philie Wolfe pointed from a free in the 11th minute to put them into a three point lead. Patrick Murray had a great goal chance saved by James Cronin in the 13th minute. Kevin Murnaghan beat Naas Keeper James Cronin two minutes later when he fired the ball into the back of the net after a great ball from Aaron Mullins. Niall Hurley Lynch, Jason Philips and Philie Wolfe added points before Eoin Doyle got forward from centre half back to kick Naas’s first point of the game. Moorefield replied instantly with a point from Patrick Murray after been set up for the score by Aaron Mullins to leave a half time score of 1-07 to 0-01.

Moorefield picked up where they left off in the second half with Aaron Mullins kicking his first point of the game in the 6th minute. Mullins kicked his second of the game instantly with an excellent point after good work from Kevin O’Neill and Philie Wolfe. Philie Wolfe put the Moore’s into a 1-09 lead in the 10th minute when pointed from play after Kevin Murnaghan sent in a great ball to the full forward. Naas went into a ten minute period of dominance kicking four good points in five minutes coming from Richie Ormsby, Eoin Doyle (f), Ian Kinlon and Conor Mellet. Moorefield responded with a point from Jason Philips after an excellent ball from Liam Callaghan. Half forward David Gahan converted two frees in the 26th and 28th minute to leave seven points between the teams. Kevin Murnaghan had another great goal chance saved by James Cronin. Frank Hanniffy and Keith Duane kicked the Moore’s final two points in the 30th and 32nd minute. Richie Ormsby kicked a good point from play for Naas in the 33rd minute to leave a final score of 1-13 to 0-08.

Best for Moorefield: James Lonergan, Kevin Murnaghan, Jason Philips, Philie Wolfe, Patrick Murray and Aaron Mullins.

Best for Naas: Richie Ormsby, Eoin Doyle, Ian Doyle and James Cronin.

Scorers Moorefield: Kevin Murnaghan 1-00, Philie Wolfe 0-03, Jason Philips 0-03, Aaron Mullins 0-02, James Lonergan 0-01, Niall Hurley Lynch 0-01, Patrick Murray 0-01, Frank Hanniffy 0-01, Keith Duane 0-01.

Scorers Naas: Richie Ormsby 0-02, Eoin Doyle 0-02, David Gahan 0-02, Ian Kinlon 0-01, Conor Mellet 0-01.