Junior Leinster Winners 2011

Written by Kelly. Posted in County Players 2011

Published on May 24, 2011 with

Warning: simplexml_load_string(): Entity: line 1: parser error : Start tag expected, '<' not found in /home/moorefie/public_html/wp-content/plugins/picasna/picasna-functions.php on line 64

Warning: simplexml_load_string(): The Picasa API is deprecated. See https://developers.google.com/picasa-web/ for in /home/moorefie/public_html/wp-content/plugins/picasna/picasna-functions.php on line 64

Warning: simplexml_load_string(): ^ in /home/moorefie/public_html/wp-content/plugins/picasna/picasna-functions.php on line 64

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/moorefie/public_html/wp-content/plugins/picasna/picasna-functions.php on line 103

Congratulations to Ciarán Kelly and the Kildare Junior Team on their 5-09 to 1-08 victory over Cavan in the Leinster final.




Interview on KFM

Irish Independent 7th July 2011

Kelly sparks Lilywhites goal rush to blow Cavan out of water

Kildare 5-8 Cavan 1-9

Kildare’s Ciaran Kelly played the captain’s role to perfection with two goals as the Lilywhites lifted their first Junior provincial title since 2004 at St Conleth’s Park last night.

There were times when the football lacked the quality you might expect from a Leinster final — Kildare kicked 17 wides and didn’t get their first score until the 16th minute.

However, the Lilies scored 4-4 in the second half to secure the trophy.

Kelly’s goal saw Kildare go in 1-4 to 0-4 ahead at the break, but the Lilywhites went goal crazy in the second period.

Kelly got his team’s second goal when he fisted home Paddy Meagher’s pass in the 36th minute.

Two points was as close as Cavan could get thereafter and the game was as good as finished when Mikey Conway shot past Alan O’Mara with 10 minutes to go.

That goal knocked the stuffing out of Cavan and although Ryan McCormack hit back with a point for Val Andrews’ side, Kildare signed off in style with two goals in the final three minutes.

Substitute Dan Campbell was only on the pitch a matter of moments when he deftly finished past O’Mara and Eoghan Carew’s scrambled finish was the perfect ending for the home team.

Scorers — Kildare: C Kelly 2-1 (0-1f), M Conway, D Campbell, E Carew 1-0 each, D Mulhall (2f), P Meagher 0-2 each, J Gately, P Dunne, T Archbold 0-1 each. Cavan: K Fannin 1-2, J O’Reilly 0-3 (1f), D Meehan, S Gaffney, T Reilly, R McCormack 0-1 each.

Kildare — R Eyres; D McEvoy, C Fitzpatrick, R Walsh; M Kelly, J Doyle, J Browne; P Dunne, E Carew; J Lambe, M Conway, C Kelly; D Mulhall, P Meagher, J Gately. Subs: C Murphy for J Lambe (h-t), T Moolick for Kelly (43), T Archbold for Mulhall (45), D Campbell for Gately (58), M Fitzharris for Conway (60).

Cavan — A O’Mara; T Hyland, S McCormack, K Reilly; T Reilly, R Maloney-Derham, D Graham; S Gaffney, E King; S Jordan, D Meehan, K Fannin; C McClarey, J O’Reilly, J Brady. Subs: R McCormack for Brady (42), P King for Gaffney (42), J Hayes for T Reilly (49), P McCabe for Meehan (53), C Smith for King (55).

Ref — P Kneel (Louth).

The Kildare team to play Cavan in the Leinster Junior Final is
(1)Robbie Eyres(Clane)
(2) Dara McEvoy (celbridge)
(3) Kieran Fitzpatrick (kilcock)
(4) Ronan Walsh (Cappagh)
(5) Matt Kelly (T.M.H.)
(6) John Doyle (Ballymore Eustace)
(7)John Browne (Suncroft)
(8) Paddy Dunne (Athy)
(9) Eoghan Carew (St.Kevins)
(10) Jamie Lambe (Kilcullen)
(11) Mikey Conway (Nurney)
(12) Ciaran Kelly (Moorefield capt.)
(13) Darrach Mulhall (Athy)
(14) Paddy Meagher (Leixlip)
(15) James Gately (Confey)

(16) Ciaran Heneghan (Kilcock)
(17) Tommy Moolick (Leixlip)
(18) Tommy Archibald (Ballymore Eustace)
(19) Conor Murphy (Clane)
(20) Dan Campbell (Caragh)
(21) Emmet Hyland (Castlemitchel)
(22) Austin Tighe (Kilcock)
(23) Mick Deegan (Celbridge)
(24) Mark Fitzharris (St.Kevins)
(25) Austin Nevin (Caragh)
(26) Ray Fitzgerald (castlemitchel)
(27) Derek Nolan (Athgarvan)
(28) Kevin Doran (Cappagh)
(29) William.Clinch (Grange)
(30) Tadgh Grace (Ballymore)

Photographs by Pat Tinsley

Wednesday 6th July at 7.30pm in St. Conleth’s Park.

Congratulations to Ciarán Kelly and the Kildare Junior Team on their 1-09 to 0-05 victory over Dublin in the Leinster semi-final.

Wednesday 8th June in Parnell Park at 7.30pm.

The team was as follows:


1     Roibeard Iarsach                           Robbie Eyres                            Claonadh

2     Daragh Mac Fhiobhui                    Daragh Mc Evoy                      Cill Droichid

3     Ciaran Mac Giolla Phadraig           Ciaran Fitzpatrick                     Cill Cocha

4     O O Laighin                                  Ollie Lyons                               Cill Droichid

5     Maitiu O Ceallagh                          Matt Kelly                                Teach Dha Mhile

6     Sean O Dughaill                             John Doyle                               Baile Mór

7     Sean de Brún                                 John Brown                              Crocha na Greine

8     Liam O hIfearnain                          Willie Heffernan                        An Urnaí

9     Padraig O Duinn                            Paddy Dunne                            Ath Í

10   Padraig O Meachair                      Paddy Meagher                        Leim an Bhradaín

11   Micheal O Conbhuí                       Mikey Conway                         An Urnaí

12   Ciaran O Ceallaigh                        Ciaran Kelly                             Acadha Mordha

13   Darroch O Maolchathail                Darrock Mulhall                       Ath Í

14   Tomás Moolick                             Tommy Moolick                       Leim an Bhradain

15   Seamus O Gathlaoich                    James Gately                            Confaí

16   Ciaran O hEanachain                     Ciaran Heneghan                      Cill Cocha

17   Sean O hUrthuile                           Sean Hurley                              Baile Sheain

18   Conchuir O Murchú                       Conor Murphy                         Claonadh

19   Austin Mac Cnaimhín                     Austin Nevin                             Cearrach

20   Michéal O Duíginn                         Mick Deegan                            Cill Droichid

21   Eoghan Carrún                              Eoghan Carew                          Naomh Caoimhín

22   Tomas Mac an Easpaigh                Tommy Archbold                     Baile Mór

23   Dan Mac Cathmhaoil                     Dan Campbell                          Cearrach

24   Briain Mac Giolla Mhaoil               Brian Bell                                 Cill Chuilinn

A goal and three points in the first 6 minutes of this game set Kildare on their way to the Leinster Junior Championship final this evening. Mat Kelly got the Kildare goal after 60 seconds following a pass from Paddy Dunne. The Lilywhites followed this goal with 3 points without reply from Ciaran Kelly. Dublin’s first and only score of the half was a point in the 18th minute.

Kildare finished the half with points from Willie Heffernan, Tommy Moolick and Mikey Conway.

Kildare got the first score of the second half with a point in the third minute from Darrock Mulhall. Dublin responded with points from Dalton, Seaver and McCann before Tony Kelly’s men added another point from a Mikey Conway free. Seaver added Dublin’s final point of the night.

There was drama at the end of the game as Kildare were awarded a penalty which Conway put over the bar.

On reflection Kildare will probably not be happy but their second half performance but they have booked their place in the final against either Kilkenny or Cavan.


Kildare 2-14 vs. Louth 1-8

Wednesday 25th May at 7.30pm  in the County Grounds.

Match Report